Contact Us
Pleasantville Daily Voice serves Pleasantville, NY
Return to your home site


Pleasantville Daily Voice serves Pleasantville, NY

Nearby Towns


Pleasantville Charity Names Honorary Co-Chairs For Spring Gala

Chappaqua's Dr. Alyssa Dweck, left, and Pound Ridge's Joel Seligman have been named co-chair of the annual Hope's Door Spring Gala.
Chappaqua's Dr. Alyssa Dweck, left, and Pound Ridge's Joel Seligman have been named co-chair of the annual Hope's Door Spring Gala. Photo Credit: Hope's Door

PLEASANTVILLE, N.Y. – Hope’s Door, a charity that seeks to end domestic violence, announced Tuesday that Joel Seligman of Pound Ridge and Dr. Alyssa Dweck of Chappaqua were named honorary co-chairs for the upcoming Annual Spring Gala.

Seligman is CEO of Northern Westchester Hospital and Dweck is a prominent OB/GYN and author on women’s issues. The co-chairs will head up the committee to raise funds at this year’s event, which will take place on May 3 at 6:30 pm at Abigail Kirsch at Tappan Hill Mansion in Tarrytown.

“We are thrilled to have Joel and Alyssa serve as co-chairs of our Gala committee,” said Eric Wrubel, President of the Board at Hope’s Door. “As long-standing members of the health care community in Northern Westchester, they have seen the effects that abuse can have on women, men and children. Their commitment to helping victims and stopping the cycle of abuse with prevention and education makes them excellent community leaders for Hope’s Door.”

Seligman has served as President and CEO of Northern Westchester Hospital, located in Mount Kisco, since 2001. Under his leadership, NWH has opened a new Neonatal Intensive Care Unit, an Interventional Radiology Suite, two new operating rooms, a Breast Institute and a Women’s Imaging Center.

Dweck is a partner and full-time practicing physician at the Mount Kisco Medical Group in Mount Kisco. She is also an Assistant Clinical Professor in the Department of Obstetrics, Gynecology and Reproductive Sciences at the Mount Sinai School of Medicine. She recently co-authored her first book, V is for Vagina , released last year. She regularly contributes to many women-focused and teen magazines and websites including ym, Cosmopolitan and Shape.

In addition to Seligman and Dweck, the gala committee includes Karen Burchetta, Michele Cestari-Schimmel, Ingrid Connolly, Ali Flynn, April Foley, Michelle Gasparre, Donna Goldman, Mary Hamill, Patricia Herring, Ursula LaMotte, Debbie Lionetti, Ken Marsolais, Jan Pinckney, Diane Rooney, Caroline Shepherd, Jane Silverman, Nancy K. Simpkins, Barbara Stewart Schloat, Susan Stillman, Laurie Sturz, and Caryn Tanner.

The sponsors of the Gala include Gold Sponsors Nancy K. Simpkins and The TJX Companies, Inc.; Silver Sponsors BNY Mellon Wealth Management; Boies, Schiller & Flexner LLP; Martha and Jeff Kohn; McLaughlin & Stern, LLP; and Laurie and Paul Sturz; Friends Sponsors Tiffany Bauman Real Estate, LLC; Tom and Wendy Gardner; Dr. Terrence and Caroline Murphy; Matthew R. Ryan; Jane Silverman; Carey Vames and Richard Klein.

For information or to purchase tickets, visit the Hope's Door website or call (914) 747-0828.

to sign up for Daily Voice's free daily emails and news alerts.

Welcome to

Pleasantville Daily Voice!

Get the news you need to know on the go.

Welcome to

Pleasantville Daily Voice!

Hi! You've read our articles so we know you like our reporting. To keep reading please join our mailing list.

Get important news about your town as it happens.